Panama Probe Body Meeting Today

Panama Probe Body Meeting Today

The twelve-member Parliamentary Committee that will draft terms of reference (TORs) for the proposed Panama Papers inquiry commission, will meet today (Wednesday).

Panama probe body meeting today

The first meeting of the committee will be held at the Speaker’s chamber at 4pm today. Earlier, National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq received names of government’s team finalized by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif for inclusion in the bipartisan committee. In the committee, the government side will be represented by Finance Minister Ishaq Dar, Defence Minister Khawaja Mohammad Asif, Railways Minister Khawaja Saad Rafique, IT Minister Anusha Rehman,

Read More: Panama Leaks Opposition Formulates Questionnaire For PM

Ports and Shipping Minister Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo and Housing and Works Minister Akram Khan Durrani. Opposition parties had already announced that they would be represented by Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Shah Mehmood Qureshi of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI), Ilyas Bilour of the Awami National Party (ANP), Sahibzada Tariqullah of the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Barrister Mohammad Ali Saif of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and Tariq Bashir Cheema of the PML-Quaid. 

The body will draft TORs for investigation of offshore companies, money laundering, loan waiver and kickbacks against politicians following disclosures in Panama Papers leaks which feature Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s family.