Pakistan beat Bangladesh, sweep series 3-0

Pakistan beat Bangladesh, sweep series 3-0

Pakistan beat BangladeshShoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez took three wickets each to help Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 58 runs in the third ODI and sweep the series 3-0.

Chasing a winning target of 178, Bangladesh crumbled to 119 all out after 38 overs, with Abdur Rehman and Saeed Ajmal chipping in with two wickets apiece.Malik returned figures of 3-6 from four overs and Hafeez took 3-27 from his 10 overs. Mahmudullah top-scored for Bangladesh with 35.Earlier, Umar Akmal (57) and Misbah-ul-Haq (47) combined to add 94 runs in Pakistan’s total of 177.

Bangladesh looked promising even after losing opener Tamim Iqbal to Hafeez with the first ball of the innings.Shahriar Nafees and Mahmudullah added 69 runs for the second wicket but the hosts lost five quick wickets to slump to 83-6.Alok Kapali (12) and Farhad Reza (21) provided late resistance but no other batsmen could get close to double figures for Bangladesh, whose spin bowlers had set up a victory chance by restricting Pakistan to 177 in 46.1 overs.

Mahmudullah bowled only 1.1 overs to finish with figures of 3-4 while Razzak took 3-21 in his 10 overs that included two maidens. Elias Sunny also contributed by claiming two wickets as he bowled nine overs, conceding 36 runs.Akmal’s 57 from 84 balls featured three boundaries and two sixes before he was stumped by Rahim off Sunny. Captain Misbah was caught by Alok Kapali off Razzak after adding a typically steady 47 from 89 balls.Younis Khan (26) was the only other batsman to reach double figures for Pakistan, but Bangladesh proved just as vulnerable against spin and Pakistan maintained a 12-year unbeaten streak against the hosts.



Mohammad Hafeez c Reza b Shafiul 0

Asad Shafiq b Shakib 7

Younis Khan c Rahim b Razzak 26

Misbah-ul-Haq c Kapali b Razzak 47

Umar Akmal st Rahim b Sunny 57

Shoaib Malik c and b Razzak 0

Shahid Afridi c Nasir b Sunny 9

Abdur Rehman lbw b Mahmudullah 4

Sohail Tanvir c Rahim b Mahmudullah 8

Umar Gul c Rahim b Mahmudullah 0

Saeed Ajmal not out 3

Extras: (b12, lb1, w2, nb1) 16

Total (all out, 46.1 overs) 177

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Hafeez), 2-37 (Shafiq), 3-39 (Younis), 4-133 (Misbah), 5-133 (Malik), 6-148 (Afridi), 7-162 (Akmal), 8-172 (Tanvir), 9-172 (Gul), 10-177 (Rehman).

Bowling: Shafiul 6-1-32-1 (1w, nb1), Reza 2-1-2-0, Razzak 10-2-21-3, Shakib 10-2-21-1, Sunny 9-0-36-2 (w1), Kapali 4-0-17-0, Nasir 4-0-31-0, Mahmudullah 1.1-0-4-3


Tamim Iqbal b Hafeez 0

Shahriar Nafees lbw b Ajmal 25

Mohammad Mahmudullah lbw b Hafeez 35

Mushfiqur Rahim lbw b Rehman 0

Shakib Al Hasan c and b Hafeez 9

Nasir Hossain c Misbah b Rehman 3

Alok Kapali c Shafiq b Malik 12

Farhad Reza lbw b Ajmal 21

Elias Sunny b Malik 1

Abdur Razzak not out 1

Shafiul Islam b Malik 0

Extras: (b4, lb3, w5) 12

Total (all out, 38 overs) 119

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Tamim), 2-69 (Nafees), 3-70 (Rahim), 4-72 (Mahmudullah), 5-81 (Shakib), 6-83 (Nasir), 7-117 (Reza), 8-117 (Kapali), 9-119 (Sunny), 10-119 (Shafiul).

Bowling: Hafeez 10-2-27-3 (w3), Gul 2-0-3-0, Rehman 10-1-32-2, Afridi 4-0-27-0 (w1), Ajmal 7-4-6-2 (w1), Tanvir 1-0-11-0, Malik 4-2-6-3

Pakistan won by 58 runs to take series 3-0.

Toss: Pakistan

Umpires: Johan Cloete (RSA) and Enamul Haque (BAN)

TV umpire: Sharfuddoula Saikat (BAN)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND) – Khaleejnews