England win first Test against India

England win first Test against India

England beat India by 196 runs to win the first Test at Lord’s here Monday to take a 1-0 lead in the four-match series.India, set what would have been a new fourth innings Test record victory total of 458, were dismissed for 261 in what was the 2,000th Test of all-time and 100th between the two countries.Fast-medium bowler James Anderson led England’s attack with five for 65.

His haul included the wickets of Suresh Raina, who made 78, and Sachin Tendulkar, out for 12 to be left stranded on 99 international hundreds.England established a position of early dominance thanks to a first innings total of 474 for eight declared featuring Kevin Pietersen’s 202 not out after India fast bowler Zaheer Khan suffered a hamstring strain that kept him off the field for most of the match.

India were bowled out for 286 in reply, Rahul Dravid making 103 not out, with England seamer Stuart Broad taking four wickets for 37 runs.England collapsed to 62 for five in their second innings before Matt Prior’s unbeaten 103 and Broad’s 74 not out enabled England captain Andrew Strauss to declare on 269 for six.The series continues with the second Test at Trent Bridge, starting Friday.England will replace India at the top of the ICC’s Test Championship table if they win this four-match series by two Tests.


Final scoreboard on the fifth day of the first Test between England and India at Lord’s on Monday:

England 1st Innings 474-8 dec (K Pietersen 202 no, M Prior 71, J Trott 70; P Kumar 5-106)

India 1st Innings 286 (R Dravid 103 no; S Broad 4-37, C Tremlett 3-80)

England 2nd Innings 269-6 dec (M Prior 103 no, S Broad 74 no; I Sharma 4-59)

India 2nd Innings (overnight: 80-1)

A. Mukund b Broad 12

R. Dravid c Prior b Anderson 36

V. Laxman c Bell b Anderson 56

G. Gambhir lbw b Swann 22

S. Tendulkar lbw b Anderson 12

S. Raina c Prior b Anderson 78

MS Dhoni c Prior b Tremlett 16

Harbhajan Singh c Tremlett b Anderson 12

P. Kumar b Broad 2

Zaheer Khan not out 0

I.    Sharma lbw b Broad 1 Extras (b2, lb6, nb6) 14 Total (all out, 96.3 overs, 444 mins) 261

Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Mukund), 2-94 (Dravid), 3-131 (Laxman), 4-135 (Gambhir), 5-165 (Tendulkar), 6-225 (Dhoni), 7-243 (Harbhajan), 8-256 (Kumar), 9-260 (Raina), 10-261 (Sharma)

Bowling: Anderson 28-7-65-5; Tremlett 21-4-44-1 (6nb); Broad 20.3-4-57-3; Swann 22-3-64-1; Trott 2-0-11-0; Pietersen 3-0-12-0

England: Andrew Strauss (capt), Alastair Cook, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Eoin Morgan, Matt Prior (wkt), Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett, James Anderson

Result: England won by 196 runs

Series: England lead four-match series 1-0

Remaining Fixtures:

Jul 29-Aug 01: 2nd Test, Trent Bridge

Aug 10-14: 3rd Test, Edgbaston

Aug 18-22: 4th Test, The Oval

Toss: India

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL) and Asad Rauf (PAK)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI) – Khaleejnews