Recognising excellence: Manto among 192 recipients of top civil awards

Recognising excellence: Manto among 192 recipients of top civil awards

Manto among 192 recipients of top civil awards
Manto among 192 recipients of top civil awards

ISLAMABAD: Fifty-seven years after his death, controversial writer Saadat Hassan Manto was recognised posthumously through the conferment of a top state honour.

He was one of the 192 recipients of top civilian awards, announced on Monday by the president. Manto’s is one of the 11 awards conferred posthumously.  The list of such recipients includes the name of Fauzia Wahab, former secretary information of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), who passed away earlier this year. The awards will be distributed, as is custom, on March 23, 2013. Among those who are going to be presented with the accolades are eight foreigners from China, United Kingdom, France, Spain and Malaysia. Abdul Sattar Edhi and Dr Ishratul Ebad Khan (governor of Sindh) have been awarded Nishan-i-Imtiaz for Public service whereas Mehdi Hassan has been given the posthumous award in the field of Art (Music) and Literature.

Some well-known recipients of Hilal-i-Imtiaz include Ansar Burney for Social Service, Zia Mohyeddin for Art (Acting/Comparing), Abida Parveen (Singer), Anwar Maqsood (Literature), Fatima Suriya Bajia (Literature), Hafeez Kardar and Fazal Mehmood (posthumous) for Sports (Cricket) and Khalid Abbas Dar (Drama acting/comparing). Maulana Muhammad Mirajuddin Shaheed from South Wazirstan Agency, a former member of parliament who played a key role as a negotiator when Baitullah Mehsud kidnapped a convoy of more than 100 troops travelling from Tank to South Waziristan in 2007, has been awarded with the Tamgha-I-Shuja’at.

Following is the complete list of the awards:


Abdul Sattar Edhi (Social Service); Dr Ishratul Ebad Khan (Public Service); Lt Gen (Retd) Khalid Ahmed Kidwai, DG, Strategic Plans Division (Public Service); Mehdi Hassan (Posthumous) (Art, Music); Saadat Hasan Manto (Posthumous) (Literature); Muhammad Irfan Burney, Chairman, NESCOM (Nuclear Science & Engineering); Munir Ahmed Khan (Posthumous), Ex-Chairman Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission (Science).


Yang Jiechi (China) (Services to Pakistan).


Fauzia Wahab (Posthumous) (Public Service); Ansar Burney (Social Service); Zia Mohyeddin (Art: Acting / Comparing); Abida Parveen (Singer); Shabbir Hassan Khan Josh Malihabadi (Posthumous) (Poetry / Urdu Literature); Anwar Maqsood (Literature); Fatima Suriya Bajia (Literature); Major Gen Ausaf Ali (Public Service); Ansar Parvez, Chairman, Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission (Science); Hafeez Kardar (Posthumous), Former Captain Pakistan Cricket Team (Sports: Cricket); Fazal Mehmood (Posthumous), Former Captain Pakistan Cricket Team (Sports: Cricket); Masood Khan, Pakistan Ambassador in China (Services to Pakistan); Ahmed Chinoy (Public Service); Khalid Abbas Dar (Art: Drama Acting / Comparing); Azhar Abbas (Journalism); Hamid Mir (Journalism); Maj Gen (retd) Ahmed Bilal, chairman, Suparco (public service).


Dr Rowan Douglas Williams Archbishop of Canterbury (British) (Services to Pakistan).


Maulana Muhammad Hassan Jan Shaheed (Gallantry); Shafique Ahmed Khan (gallantry); Raja Umer Khattab (gallantry).


Yusuf H Shirazi (Public Service); Senator Haji Ghulam Ali, former president, FPCCI (Public Service) (Trade and Industry); Ramzan Chhipa, Social Worker/ Philanthropy (Public Service); Dr Attiya Inayatullah (Public Service) (Social Development & Human rights Women Development); Taj Haider (Public Service: Social Service / Politician); Dr Aamir Ali Syed (Health); Ghulam Ali (Arts: Singing); Jugnoo Mohsin (Journalism); Qazi Aslam (Journalism); Hashim Khan (Sports: Squash); Aleem Sarwar Dar (Sports: Cricket Umpire); Shaista Zaid (Arts: Newscaster); Air Cdre Muhammad Khalid Banuri (Policy Analysis); Lin Zouming (Services to Pakistan); Wang Guangya (Services to Pakistan); Mohsin Agha (Civil Engineering); Muhammad Jameel Rahi (Physics / Nuclear Engineering); Haris Ahmed Butt (Physics); Brig (retd) Sajjad Ali (Public Service); Shahzad Ali Malik (Public Service); Prof Dr Noshad A Shaikh (Public Service); Arshad Sami Khan (Posthumous), Former Ambassador of Pakistan (Public Service); Abdul Sami Khan (Public Service); Shujat Ali Baig (Public Service: Banking / Education and Promotion of sports); Saleem Ahmed Kharral (Public Service: Education); Syed Aqil Shah (Public Service: Promoting Sports); Dr Qamarul Haque (Science: Physics); Dr Muhammad Ashfaq (Science: Agriculture); Prof Dr Ihsan Ali (Archaeology); Prof Dr Khan Bahadar Marwat (Agriculture Weed Science); Dr Muhammad Aslam (Engineering: Nuclear); Dr Sarfraz Khan Niazi (Engineering Science); Dr Khalid Jamil Akhtar (Health: Rehabilitation for Disabled person); Dr Mohammad Ali Jawad (Medicine); Dr Muhammad Altamash (Health); Dr Wajid Ali Khan (Health); Dr Shaista Masood Khan (Health); Dr Nehal Masood, MD (Health); Hakeem Rizwan Hafeez (Health: Tib-e-Unani); Mohammad Haroon Rashid (Researcher); Aziz Latif Jamal (Research/ Education); Al-Haaj Siddiq Ismail (Arts: Na’at Khwan); Sohail Ahmad (Arts: Drama Acting/ Comparing); Syed Ghulam Mohiyuddin Noor (Syed Noor) (Arts: Film Producer); Dr Gopi Chand Narang (Literature). -tribune