No ex-Pakistan leave for over 600 customs officials

ISLAMABAD  (January 28, 2011) : The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) has barred over 600 customs officials and staff including Additional Collectors, Deputy Collectors and Assistant Collectors, dealing Afghan Transit Trade from January 1, 2007 to October 15, 2010 to avail ex-Pakistan leave.

In this regard, the FBR has issued instructions to the field formations including all controlling officers and Collectors of Model Customs Collectors here on Thursday. This is for the first time that the government has restricted the movement of such a large number of customs officials and restricted them from going abroad.

These officials/staff would not be allowed ex-Pakistan leave or any other leave except casual leave as authorised under the government rules. According to the FBR instructions, pursuant to the directions of the competent authority, the officers and officials mentioned in the list may not be granted ex-Pakistan or any other leave except casual leave without the express approval of the Secretary Revenue Division/FBR Chairman.

The list contains names of Additional Collectors, Deputy Collectors, Assistant Collectors, Incharge of Afghan Transit Trade Section and officials posted at commercial/non-commercial Afghan Transit Trade, Principal Appraisers, Examiners and DCA/KPOs. The list also contains names of officers posted in Sealing and De-Sealing (PCCSS) Sections, Apprising Officers and Examining Officers and other officers, who remained posted – Brecorder