PIAF-Founders Alliance wins all seats of LCCI Associate Class

LAHORE : The PIAF-Founders Alliance on Tuesday made another clean sweep by winning all the eight seats of LCCI Associate Class for the year 2010-11 paving the way for the Alliance to have its President, Senior Vice President and Vice President. As many as total 1076 votes were polled out of 4279, while 40 votes were rejected due to technical reasons. PIAF-Founder Alliance got 696 panel votes, while the rivals Azad Group secured only 81 panel votes.

The Alliance popularity registered 36 percent increase, as compared to previous year. The PIAF-Founders Alliance candidates Muhammad Yousuf Shah got 810 votes, Fahim-ur-Rehman got 823 votes, Shahid Maqsood Butt got 834 votes, Sohail Azhar got 867 votes, Kh. Khawar Rasheed got 797 votes, Mian Maqsood Ali got 790 votes, Ilyas Majeed Sheikh got 775 votes & Chaudhry Wajid Ali got 778 votes.
Azad Group candidates Raja Hassan Akhtar got 144 votes, Muhammad Nawaz got 158 votes, Syed Irfan Ahmad got 139, Muhammad Shakeel got 131 votes, Omer Farooq got 133 votes, Muhammad Rukhsan got 120 votes, Mian Shabbir Ahmad got 131 votes and Muhammad Yaseen got 123 votes, while two independent candidates including Sh. Muhammad Munir and Sh. Unees Arshad got 34 and 23 votes, respectively.

Election Commission comprising Sh. Salim Ali, Asim Qadri and Nadir Kamal Usman announced the provisional results. Soon after the announcement of panel vote results, the LCCI President Zafar Iqbal Chaudhry, Senior Vice President Ijaz A. Mumtaz and Vice President Faisal Iqbal Sheikh thanked the voters for reposing confidence in PIAF-Founders Alliance. They said that the number of votes cast in favour of the PIAF-Founders Alliance was enough to prove that the business community was with the Alliance.

They paid rich tributes to the Leadership of the Alliance including Mohsin Raza Bukhari, Mian Tajjamal Hussain, Mian Mohammad Ashraf, Mian Anjum Nisar, Iftikhar Ali Malik, Sheikh Mohmmad Asif, Mian Shafqat Ali, Sheikh Mohammad Arshad, PIAF Chairman Irfan Qaiser Sheikh, Khawaja Shahzeb Akram and Iqbal Baig Chugtai for putting in their all energies to ensure a comfortable victory. – Brecorder