RCB vs DD, IPL 2014: Yuvraj Singh Guides Bangalore to a well Deserved Victory

RCB vs DD, IPL 2014: Yuvraj Singh Guides Bangalore to a well Deserved Victory

The RCB batting line up lived up to its hype as it chased down the tricky target of 146 with much ease even without the presence of Chris Gayle in the batting line up.

IPL 2014Although the start to the chase wasn’t very promising as Bangalore lost the wicket of Nic Maddinson in the second over to Mohammad Shami, first Parthiv Patel and then Yuvraj Singh and Virat Kohli played substantial and brisk innings to guide RCB home to a comfortable victory. After the loss of the early wicket Parthiv Patel took the attack to the opposition as he often skipped down the track and took on the bowlers during the span of his innings.

Once he was dismissed the much talked about Yuvraj Singh walked into the middle and immediately Dinesh Karthik brought back his pacers into the attack. Although Yuvi was uncomfortable against pace to start with, he put it behind his back and slammed 52 runs of just 29 deliveries with the help of 3 boundaries and 5 sixes. Yuvraj was given able support by Virat Kohli who himself raced to 49 runs of 38 deliveries, though it didn’t hurt the RCB fans that he was dropped on 2 separate occasions in the same over.

Kohli hit 2 boundaries and 3 sixes and along with Yuvraj shared a partnership of 84 runs of 48 deliveries. Earlier the RCB bowling attack had reduced the Daredevils to a less than decent total of 145. The condition of the Delhi Daredevils could have been worst had it not been for the partnership between Ross Taylor and JP Duminy, who shared a partnership of 110 runs after DD were 35/4 in the eighth over.

The RCB bowlers bowled very good line and length, something every Delhi bowler except Mohammad Shami failed to do. Yuzvendra Chahal in particular was an amazing addition to the team and even internationals like Ross Taylor and JP Duminy failed to pick up his variations. Varun Aaron was major surprise package as he bowled economically and picked up the wicket of Manoj Tiwary. -India