Shahid Afridi Named T20 Captain Until 2016 Championship

Shahid Afridi has today been announced as captain of the Pakistan T20 squad till the ICC World T20 in 2016. The slot was lying vacant following Muhammad Hafeez’s resignation after the ICC World T20 held in Bangladesh earlier this year. 

Shahid Afridi
Shahid Afridi named captain of the T20 Squad & Misbah retained Test, ODI captain till 2015

The decision to retain Misbah-ul-Haq as captain of Test and One Day squad till next year’s ICC World Cup was also reaffirmed.  Commenting on these developments Chairman PCB Mr. Shaharyar Khan said, “In line with my policy of taking decisions democratically I consulted Cricket Committee and my Board members before announcing these decisions. 

I wish both Shahid Afridi and Misbah very good luck in their upcoming assignments.”  Pakistan will start their tour against Australia next month with a T20 scheduled on 5th October 2014 at Dubai Cricket Stadium, UAE. The T20, ODI and Test teams for the series against Australia shall be announced in due course. -pcb