Mohsen Zafar claims 29th Millat Governors Cup-Javed Khan best in Seniors Event

Mohsen Zafar claims 29th Millat Governors Cup-Javed Khan best in Seniors Event

The 29th Millat Governor’s Cup Golf Tournament came to a rather fearsome conclusion yesterday at the Lahore Gymkhana Golf Course,after three rounds of frightfully competitive golfing,bringing prestige,glory and a glittering trophy for Mohsen Zafar of Gymkhana and total dismay for quite a few others who played exceedingly well but missed out the title by the barest of margins.

One example was that of Taimur Shabbir,son of NishaneHaider,Shabbir Sharif who looked like a sure winner till the last hole but a missed putt let him down and he was pushed down to the fourth position,which in championships is hardly mentioned.This might look unfair,but that is what competitions are all about,rather harsh at times and devoid of emotions.Omer Khawaja of Sialkot ended up as the runners up with three rounds scores of net 70,71 and and 69 and a total of net 210,six under par,one stroke behind the ultimate winner,Mohsen Zafar,while Tariq Mehmood of Garrison came third with an aggregate score similar to Omer and had to be placed third as Omer had better rounds over the last 36 holes.Infact Taimur also had an aggregate net of 210 and the rule of 36 holes brought him down to the fourth position.

In the gross section Ghazanfar Mehmood of Rawalpindi showed his prowess with brilliance over the three days and brought forth impressive scores of gross 7o,71 and 69,a total of 212,four under par.Mohammed Rehman of Royal Palm ended up as the runners up gross with heart warming scores of 70,74 and 74.Khalid Mehmood of rawalpindi came third with a gross total of 222..Other prize winners are Imran Ahmed,first day best gross,Sardar Murad Khan,2nd day gross,and Robin Bagh,third day gross.The net best rounds were won by Saleem Raza,Sqd Ldr M.Saqib,and Hussain Hamid.In the Seniors section,Javed Khan dominated the gross section winning first gross.

Lt Col M.Shafi came second and A.Wajid Sethi was third.As for seniors net the winners are Hamid Sethi(first),Tariq Saigol(second) and Ishfaq Khalid(third).Amongst the ladies the top performer in the gross section was Ghazala Yasmin,the runner up being Tehmina Rashid and Mrs Asma Shami,third.Maryama Khan won the net,Sameea Javed Ali second and Nighat Akram,third.At the conclusion of the championship,Acting Governor Punjab,Iqbal Ahmed Khan awarded prizes to the winners in a grand ceremony attended by Sikandar Mustafa Khan,Mian Misbahurrehman,Ziaurrehman,Maj(r)Javed Nasrullah,Shahid Gul Qureshi Qureshi,Tariq Malik,Rai Azizullah and a large number of golfers.

Add to Flipboard Magazine.