New Members Of ECP Take Oath

New Members Of ECP Take Oath

Four new members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) sworn in on Wednesday, Media News reported.

New members of ECP
New members of ECP take oath

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Justice (retd) Sardar Raza Khan administered the oath to the new members of the ECP at Election Commission Secretariat. Abdul Ghaffar Soomro (Sindh), Justice (rtd) Shakeel Baloch, Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi (Punjab) and Irshad Qaisar (KP) sworn in to fill the vacancies in the Election Commission of Pakistan. 

A parliamentary committee on Monday nominated four members of the election commission, one from each federating unit. The five-year tenure of the four members of the ECP was expired on June 12, this year leaving the election commission virtually non-functional. 

Read More: Bangladesh Nine killed In Gun Battle With Police

The ECP could now take important matter pending with it including various petitions seeking disqualification of the prime minister, the final phase of the local councils elections in Sindh and Punjab provinces and by elections in a number of constituencies.