Ayaz Sadiq Poised to Regain NA Speakership

Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) announced their support for PML-N candidate Ayaz Sadiq for the election of National Assembly (NA) Speaker,  

Ayaz Sadiq was elected in the National Assembly from NA-122 Lahore constituency in the 2013 general elections and was elected the Speaker of the Parliament’s lower house.

Sardar Ayaz Sadiq Wins
Ayaz Sadiq Poised to Regain NA Speakership

He was disqualified by an election tribunal. Sadiq went on to defeat Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Aleem Khan in the by-election to elected into the house once again. Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has nominated Ayaz Sadiq for the Speaker of National Assembly. The candidate managed to gain the support of PPP and JI for the election. 

Earlier, Sadiq also met with the Parliamentarians from Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) after which they decided to withdraw their candidate in favor of the PML-N candidate. On the other hand, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) fielded Shafqat Mehmood as their candidate for the election. The National Assembly session will commence at 09:00 am on Monday in which the new speaker of the National Assembly will be elected.