Govt Decides to Block Mobile Phone Services in 25 cities

phone no serviceISLAMABAD: The federal government has decided to shut down cellular phone services in 25 cities on Thursday and Friday to protect gatherings and processions being held in connection with Yaum-e-Ashur.

The Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (PTA) has sent the list of cities to mobile phone companies. According to sources, mobile phone service will remain shut in Karachi, Hyderabad, Khairpur, Sehwan, Nawabshah and Larkana for two days.

In restive Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, there will be no mobile phone service in Dera Ismail Khan, Kohat, Hangu, Lakki Marwat, Bannu and parts of Peshawar. In addition, mobile phone firms have been asked to block services in FaisalabAd, Sargodha, Rahimyar Khan, Bhakkar, Dera Ghazi Khan, Muzffargarh, Pakpattan, Multan, Gujranwala, Rawalpindi, Jhang and Attock.

Sources say that mobile phone service will also be blocked on routes of Muharram processions in specific cities. – SAMAA