Ishaq Dar Administers Oath to Newly Elected Senators

Ishaq Dar Administers Oath to Newly Elected Senators

Newly elected members of the Senate took oath of their office on Thursday. The oath was administered by Federal Finance Minister, Senator Mohammad Ishaq Dar. The chairperson and deputy chairperson of the house will be elected later during the session.

elected Senators

Veteran politician, Mian Raza Rabbani, belonging to the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has emerged as a consensus candidate for the Senate chairman position. Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had announced support to Raza Rabbani’s nomination and visited Asif Ali Zardari at the latter’s residence in Islamabad on Tuesday, taking him into confidence over Pakistan Muslim League- Nawaz’s (PML-N) decision. Senate chairman-designate Raza Rabbani tendered on Wednesday his resignation as additional secretary general of the PPP. 

Read More: Ishaq Dar Gives Both Big and Small Concessions

Mr Rabbani’s name was initially announced by Awami National Party (ANP) President Asfandyar Wali Khan in the presence of representatives of all opposition parties represented in the Senate after a nearly four-hour meeting at Zardari House on Monday. The Senate’s first session of 13th parliamentary year had been summoned by President Mamnoon Hussain.