PML-N Largest Party in Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly

The PML-N emerged as the single largest party after winning 14 of the 24 seats in elections for the Gilgit-Baltistan Legisla­tive Assembly held on Monday. 

According to unofficial re­­sults, Majlis-i-Wahdatul Mus­limeen (MWM) bagged two seats and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, PPP and Islami Teh­reek one each. Three independents were also elected.

PML-N Largest Party in Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly

PML-N candidates Jaffar­ullah won the GBLA-1 seat, Hafeezur Rehman GBLA-2, Dr Iqbal GBLA-3, Mir Ghaz­anfar GBLA-6, Haji Taban BGLA-7, Haji Fida Moham­mad GBLA-9, Iqbal Hassan GBLA-11, Ghulam Hussain GBLA-23, Farman Ali GBLA-13, Barkat Jamil GBLA-14, Haider Khan GBLA-17, Ibra­him Sanai GBLA-22 and Mo­­hammad Wakeel GBLA-18. Mohammad Ali Haider of Islami Tehreek has been elected from GBLA-4, MWM’s Haji Rizwan from GBLA-5, PTI’s Raja Jahanzeb from GBLA-21 and PPP’s Imran Nadeem from GBLA-12. 

Independent candidates Nawaz Khan won the GBLA-19 seat, Fida Khan GBLA-20 and Haji Aziz GBLA-16. Meanwhile, Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan praised security forces for ensuring peaceful elections in Gilgit-Baltistan. In a statement, he also praised the people of region for their cooperation with law-enforcement agencies.