PML-N picks Senator Yaqub Nasir as president

Several PML-N leaders including Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and former federal interior minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan attended the crunch meeting of the party’s Central Executive Committee today.

The PML-N leaders who arrived at Punjab House for Central Executive Committee meeting include Chaudhry Jaffer Iqbal, Dr. Tariq Fazal Chaudhry, Raja Farooq Haider, Abdul Qadir Baloch, Ishrat Ashraf, Hanif Abbasi.

It should be mentioned here that Nawaz Sharif was disqualified by Supreme Court of Pakistan over corruption charges anchored in Panama Papers. Later, Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) de-notified him from National Assembly membership. ECP issued fresh list of political parties according to which PML-N has no president currently. –SAMAA