PTI Re-Elects Imran Its Chairman With Huge Margin

PTI Re-Elects Imran Its Chairman With Huge Margin

Imran Khan was elected Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman by a massive margin of votes during the PTI’s intra-party poll, according to results announced by the party’s spokesperson on Tuesday.

According to the statement, Shah Mahmood Qureshi has been elected party’s vice chairman; Jahangir Tareen, secretary-general; Aleem Khan, Central Punjab president; Arif Alvi, Sindh chapter president; Yar Muhammad Rind, Balochistan chapter president and Ali Amin Gandapur as Khyber Pakhtunkhwa south president. Khan, who was chairing the Insaf panel, bagged 189,055 votes whereas the rival Ehtesab panel secured 41,647 votes. Around 26,256 votes were rejected. Party workers cast a total of 256,957 votes during the two-day polling process.

PTI Chief Election Commissioner Azam Swati said that the party was holding its intra-party election in a hurry to regain its election symbol of ‘bat’ from the ECP as the 2018 general election were getting nearer. PTI Spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry said that the party had submitted the results of the intra-party polls to the Election Commission of Pakistan.

Read More: Imran Khan Prefers Police Over Rangers For Karachi Peace

Earlier, the PTI Election Commission re-drafted the party’s constitution and developed software for the intra-party polls that gave registered voters just two choices: panel 1 or 2. Anything written besides 1 or 2 would disqualify the vote.

As per the amended constitution, 2.7 million voters had to decide between Imran Khan or Naik Muhammad Khan. No party member was allowed to choose anybody besides the two panels, the Insaf panel and the Ehtesaab panel, with 14 members each.