CEC Appointment: PM, Opp Leader Shortlist Four Names

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Opposition Leader in National Assembly Syed Khurshid Shah on Tuesday shortlisted four names for the poistion of Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), a private media channel reported.

shortlisted for CEC

Earlier today, the Supreme Court had warned the PM and Shah of issuing contempt notices on December 8 for failing to appoint a new CEC and gave a deadline of December 5 for the appointment. According to the report, the four contenders for the post include  Justice (retired)  Tariq Pervez Khan, Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan, Mian Mohammad Ajmal and Shakirullah Jan. 

Previously, retired judges Tassaduq Hussain Jillani and Rana Bhagwandas had also been considered for the post but their names were excluded following their rejection for nomination for the election body chief.  Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had nominated Nasir Aslam Zahid. His name has also been dropped. The post fell vacant following resignation of (retd) Fakhruddin G Ebrahim in July last year. Currently apex court judge Justice Anwar Jamali is working as the acting CEC.