Mamnoon Hussain elected as president

Mamnoon Hussain
Mamnoon Hussain elected as president

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Mamnoon Hussain on Tuesday became the 12th President of the country after securing overwhelming majority in the election.

He was polled 432 electoral votes against 77 to his only rival Justice (retd) Wajihuddin Ahmad of the Pakisatan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).The result of the polling held at the Parliament House Islamabad and all provincial assemblies, was announced by Chief Election Commissioner Justice (retd) Fakhruddin G. Ebrahim.

As many as 314 members of the Parliament cast their votes here and nine of them were declared invalid. The winning candidate Mamnoon Hussain secured 277 votes and Wajihuddin Ahmad 34.Twenty-seven electoral votes were cast in the Sindh Assembly, out of them 25 were polled to Mamnoon Hussain and two by Wajihuddin.amnoon Hussain secured 55 votes out of 56 cast in Balochistan Assembly,while Wajihuddin could get only one vote.

Fifty-seven electoral votes were cast at the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly,where Wajihuddin took the lead by bagging 36 votes against Mamnoon Hussain, who got 21.Out of total 58 electoral votes validly cast at the Punjab Assembly, Mamnoon Hussain received 54 and Wajihuddin 4.Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians and its aliies Awami National Party and Balochistan National Party-A boycotted the presidential election.The Chief Election Commissioner, while announcing the result, said the elections were free and fair. – APP