ECP temporarily suspends 154 lawmakers for not declaring assets

ECP temporarily suspends 154 lawmakers for not declaring assets

Election Commission of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan on Monday temporarily suspended 154 members of the Senate and assemblies who have failed to submit their declaration of assets and liabilities, Media reported.

The EC had asked lawmakers to submit their annual statements of assets and liabilities according to the Representation of People’s Act, however, 154 parliamentarians failed to submit their statements by the deadline.The commission has now temporarily suspended their memberships and immediately stopped them from functioning in their official capacities until their statements are received.

Of the lawmakers suspended, 31 are members of the National Assembly while 8 are senators. From the provincial assemblies, 82 parliamentarians belong from Punjab, 16 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 3 from Balochistan and 14 from Sindh.

Some notable names whose memberships have been affected include Interior Minister Rehman Malik, former Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani’s sons Abdul Qadir Gilani and Ali Musa Gilani, the Pakistan Muslim League – Likeminded’s Kashmala Tariq, Abid Sher Ali from the Nawaz League, and Minister for Kashmir Affairs Manzoor Wattoo. – Dawn