Kasur NA-140 by-polls: Malik Rashid wins by 89 votes

Malik RashidEarlier, Malik Rashid was declared winner in the initial counting but independent candidate Dr Azeemuddin Lakhvi challenged the result and demanded recounting.

In the recounting Azeem Lakhvi was declared winner by 264 votes. However, during the third counting the returning officer declared Malik Rashid winner by 73 votes again.Dr Azeemuddin Lakhvi’s supporters besieged Returning Officer’s Office over alleged poll rigging. The protesters blocked Lahore-Kasur Road and besieged the Returning Officer’s office.

They also chanted slogans against the provincial government and blamed for rigging.On that, District Returning Officer Kasur cancelled result and offered recounting.According to the last counting, Rasheed Ahmed clutched 42,295 votes to defeat Azimmuddin Lakhvi by 89 votes, who got 47,206. – Dunyanewa