PM approves National Science, Technology and Innovation Policy

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister, Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani Tuesday gave in principal approval to National Science, Technology and Innovation Policy-2011 to serve as the core to country’s socio-economic development. The policy that would now be presented to the Cabinet, proposes allocation of at least one percent by 2015 and two percent of the GDP by 2020 and focus on environment science, bio-technology, energy, water, mineral, ocean-sciences, engineering sectors as the critical areas demanding priority in economic development.

The approval came following a presentation by the Ministry of Science and Technology and CAMSATS to the Prime Minister. The new national science, technology and innovation policy has been prepared after a gap of 16 years on the directives of the Prime Minister, keeping in view the recent trends in science and technology.Executive Director Imtinan Ilahi Qureshi, gave a presentation on the progress and activities of COMSATS. The Prime Minister expressed his appreciation and agreed to inaugurate Institute of Information Technology at Chak Shahzad, Islamabad where about 5000 students are enrolled in different subjects of Science and Technology.

The Prime Minister was informed that COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Chak Shahzad, Islamabad was the major initiative of the Federal Government built at a cost of Rs. 1.2 billion.The Prime Minister extended full support to all national and international initiatives of COMSATS for the development of Science and Technology in Pakistan.The Prime Minister emphasized that tele-health project launched by the COMSATS Internet services should be fully supported and directed the  authorities concerned to facilitate the provision of funds necessary to provide the service to the people.

The Prime Minister directed the Secretary, Ministry of Science and Technology to approach the Ministry of Information Technology for provision of funds for the purpose.Executive Director Dr. Imtinan Ilahi Qureshi presented Annual Report of 2010 to the Prime Minister in his capacity as the Chairperson of COMSATS.The Prime Minister also accorded approval to holding of COMSATS meeting in 2011-12, that is expected to be attended by the Ministers of Science and Technology and delegates from all 21 member countries. The major countries are Bangladesh, Egypt, China, Iran, Sri Lanka, Jordan, etc.Federal Minister for Science and Technology Changez Khan Jamali, Ms. Farzana Raja, Chairperson BISP, Secretary Science & Technology and other senior officials of the Ministry were present during the meeting. – APP