PM constitutes Commission to investigate Abbottabad incident

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani has constituted a Commission for investigating  the Abbotabad incident on May 2, 2011.The five members Commission will be headed by Justice Javed Iqbal, a Senior Judge of Supreme Court of Pakistan, while the other members include: Justice Fakhur-ud-din G. Ibrahim, Lt. Gen. (Retd) Nadeem Ahmed former Chairman NDMA, Abbas Khan former IG, Police Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Ashraf Jahangir Qazi former Ambassador of Pakistan.The Secretary Cabinet will work as Secretary of the Commission.According to a press release issued by the Prime Minister House, the Commission is mandated to ascertain the full facts regarding the presence of Osama bin Ladin in Pakistan. The Commission will investigate the circumstances and facts regarding the US operation in Abbotabad on May 2, 2011.The Commission will determine the nature, background and causes of lapses of the authorities concerned, if any and will make consequential recommendations. – APP