President administers oath, 14 members of PML(Q) inducted in federal cabinet

ISLAMABAD: President Asif Ali Zardari on Monday administered oath to 14 Pakistan Muslim League (Q) members of the parliament as ministers and ministers of state, inducting them in the federal cabinet.The swearing in ceremony was held here at the Aiwan-e-Sadr. Seven members including Pervez Elahi, Amir Muqam, Anwar Ali Cheema, Chaudhry Wajahat Hussain, Faisal Saleh Hayat, Ghous Bukhsh Mehr and Riaz Hussain Pirzada took oath as the federal ministers.

While Khwaja Shiraz Mehmood, Sardar Bahadur Sehar, Akram Masih Gil, Sardar Shahjahan Yousuf, Raza Hayat Hiraj, Sheikh Waqas Akram and Rana Asif Tauseef took oath as ministers of state.Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani, Governor Punjab Sardar Latif Khosa, Governor Khyber Pakhtunkwa Barrister Kauser Masood, Chief Minister Sindh Qaim Ali Shah, Chief Minister Gilgit Baltistan Syed Mehdi Shah, Deputy Speaker National Assembly Faisal Karim Kundi, PML(Q) Chief Chaudhry. Shujaat Hussain, Waseem Sajjad, federal ministers, members of parliament and high ranking officers attended the ceremony.Riaz Hussain Pirzada, who took oath as federal minister, later in a brief chat with media-persons said political reconciliation was the need of hour to effectively tackle the challenges facing the country.He said the coalition government would take measures with particular focus on checking energy crisis and inflation.Ghous Bukhsh Mehr said the coalition government will strive to give relief to masses and will take every step in this respect. – APP