Supreme Court suspends parliamentary committee’s decision on judges’ extension

Supreme Court of PakistanThe Supreme Court (SC) of Pakistan on Friday suspended the decision of Parliamentary Committee (PC) regarding the extension of judges’ service. A four-member bench of the SC, headed by Justice Mahmood Akhtar Shahid Siddiqui heard a plea against the rejection of extension in the service of four additional LHC judges and two additional SHC judges by the Parliamentary Committee (PC). Other members of the bench include Justice Jawwad S Khawaja, Justice Khilji Arif Hussain and Justice Tariq Parvez.

The petition was filed by LHC judges Justice Muhammad Yawar Ali, Justice Syed Mazahir Ali Akbar Naqvi, Justice Mahmood Rashid Sheikh and Justice Muhammad Farrukh Irfan Khan and Justice Muhammad Tasneem Aslam and Justice Salman Hamid of SHC.In its short decision, the court directed the government to issue a notification of extension in the services of six judges. The detailed decision will be announced later – Dunya News