JC meets today for appointment of SC judges

ISLAMABAD: The Judicial Commission of Pakistan is meeting today (Saturday) regarding the appointment of judges to the superior courts. After the approval of 19th Amendment by parliament, now for the first time, nine members will participate in the commission meeting, as two more senior judges of the apex court have been included in the JCP on the order of the Supreme Court. Justice Tassadduq Hussain Jillani and Justice Nasirul Mulk are the new members of the commission. Chief Justice Ifthikhar Muhammad Chaudhry is the chairman of the commission and its other members include Justice Javed Iqbal, Justice Main Shakirullah Jan, Justice Tassadduq Hussain Jaillani, Justice Nasirul Mulk, Justice (r) Chaudhary Ijaz Ahmed, Law Minister Babar Awan, Attorney General of Pakistan Maulvi Anwarul Haq and Dr Khalid Rajha, the representative of the Pakistan Bar Council. The CJ summoned the meeting on January 15, but due to the death of Justice Javed Iqbal’s parents, the meeting was postponed. – Dailytimes