President reconstitutes NEC under 18th Constitutional Amendmen

ISLAMABAD : President Asif Ali Zardari on the advice of Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani on Wednesday approved the composition of National Economic Council (NEC) under the 18th Constitutional Amendment. The new composition of NEC has the Prime Minister as Chairman whereas Ministers for Finance, Communication, Health and Housing and Works will represent the Federation.Chief Ministers of Punjab, Sindh, Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan and Gilgit-Baltistan will also be its members.The other members from provinces include Senator Muhammad Ishaq Dar from Punjab, Advisor to CM on Planning and Development (P&D) from Sindh, Senior Minister for Planning and Development and Power from Pakhtunkhwa, Finance Minister of Balochistan and Chief Secretary Gilgit-Baltistan.
In addition to the above, the Governor Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, the AJK Prime Minister and the AJK Chief Secretary would be attend the council meeting by special invitation – App