56th Idea Filmfare Awards 2011

The 56th Idea Filmfare Awards was a star-studded night, where almost everyone from the B-Town dropped in. “Udaan” bagged 7 awards including Best Supporting Actor (Male), Best Film (Critics), Best Story, Cinematography, Screenplay, Best Background Music and Best Sound Design Award.On the other hand Salman Khan starrer “Dabangg” bagged 6 awards and King Khan’s “My Name Is Khan” bagged three most popular awards including Best Director, Best Actor (Male), Best Actor (Female).Veteran Bollywood actress Rekha handed over the Best Actor trophy to Shah Rukh Khan for “My Name Is Khan”.It was after a long span of 12 years that Karan Johar once again won an award for Best Director for “My Name Is Khan” after “Kuch Kuch Hota Hai” in 1998.The Best Debut Director was bagged by Manish Sharma for “Band Baajaa Baaraat”, Best Debut Actor Male was bagged by Ranveer Singh for “Band Baajaa Baaraat”, Best Debut Actor Female was bagged by Sonakshi Sinha for “Dabangg”, Best Supporting Actor Male was bagged by Ronit Roy for “Udaan”, and Best Supporting actress Female was bagged by Kareena Kapoor for “We Are Family”.On the Filmfare Critics Awards category the Best Film Critics Award was given to Vikramaditya Motwane and Sanjay Singh for “Udaan”, the Best Actor Critics Award was given to Rishi Kapoor for “Do Dooni Chaar” and Best Actress Critics Award was given to Vidya Balan for “Ishqiya”.Best Actor (Male): Shahrukh Khan got this award for his character Rizvan Khan in MNIK who is diagnosed with the Asperger’s syndrome. While receiving the award from the evergreen beauty Rekha, the actor said, “I want to take this award for my daughter. I wanted to make her wear a red gown and walk in with me on the red carpet. But she’s unwell”.Best Actor (Female): Kajol who played Shahrukh’s wife Mandira in MNIK.Best Film: “Dabangg” received by Arbaaz Khan and wife Malaika Arora Khan.Best Director: Karan Johar again for MNIK. He last got a Fimfare trophy 12 years back for “Kuch Kuch Hota Hai”.Best Debut Director: Manish Sharma for his first directorial venture “Band Baaja Baarat”.Best Debut Actor (Male): Ranveer Singh for “Band Baaja Baarat”.

Best Debut Actor (Female): Sonakshi Sinha for her amazing debut in “Dabangg”.Best Supporting Actor (Male): Ronit Roy for justly portraying the tyrannical father in “Udaan”.Best Supporting Actor (Female): Kareena Kapoor for “We Are Family”.Filmfare Critics Awards Category.Best Actor Male (Critics): Rishi Kapoor for the convincing role of a middle-class teacher in “Do Dooni Chaar”.Best Actor Female (Critics): Vidya Balan for “Ishqiya”.Best Film (Critics): “Udaan” – Vikramaditya Motwane and Sanjay Singh.This special honor was bestowed on Prabodh Chandra Dey better known as Manna Dey in the Hindi Film Industry. He had received the first Filmfare trophy way back in 1970 for the timeless melody “Ae Bhai Zara Dekh Ke Chalo” from the movie “Mera Naam Joker”.

Because the 90-year-old singer could not make it up to the award ceremony, Vidya Balan went to his place to present him with the award. Manna Dey has sang over 3500 songs in his career and has been awarded several prestigious awards including the Padma Shri in 1971, Padma Bhushan in 2005 and most recently, Dadasaheb Phalke Award in two years back in 2009.Best Music Composer: Sajid-Wajid for the super hit “Dabangg”.Best Lyrics: Gulzar for his composition “Ibn-e-Batuta” from “Ishqiya”.Most Promising Talent in Music: Sneha Khanwalkar for ‘Love Sex aur Dhokha’Best Playback Singer (Male): Rahat Fateh Ali Khan for the melodious ‘Dil Toh Bachcha Hai Ji’ from “Ishqiya”Best Playback Singer (Female): There was a tie between Sunidhi Chauhan for “Sheila ki Jawani” from “Tees Maar Khan” and Mamta Sharma for “Munni Badnaam Hui” from “Dabangg” A special award was presented by Shah Rukh Khan and Yash Chopra to Amitabh Bachchan for his completing 40 wonderful years in the industry. daily times monitor – Dailymailnews