LCCI 100-member delegation leaving for India today

LCCI 100-member delegation leaving for India today

LCCILAHORE: A 100-member Lahore Chamber of Commerce and Industry (LCCI) delegation, led by its President Irfan Qaiser Sheikh, is leaving for India today (Friday) on a five-day visit to take up Non-Tariff Barriers (NTB) and other bilateral trade related issues with their counterparts.

On the first day of the tour, the LCCI President Irfan Qaiser Sheikh would inaugurate Punjab International Trade Exhibition (PITEX-2011) in the morning, while in the evening the delegation would have a working dinner at the PHD Chamber of Commerce and Industry.On December 3, the delegation would meet Chief Minister Haryana, Bhupinder Singh Hooda wherein the LCCI President would highlight the issues coming in the way of bilateral trade and hand over a set of proposals to expedite the volume of trade.

This would be the first Lahore Chamber delegation that would be given Chief Minister’s protocol and would be hosted by the Haryana Chief Minister.On December 5, the LCCI delegates would have a meeting with Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) office-bearers and the Executive Committee for a threadbare discussion on NTBs. The FICCI would be informed of the sentiments of Pakistani businessmen regarding the MFN status to India.

In the evening of December 5, the delegation would attend working dinner arranged by the World Punjabi Organisation (WPO). The LCCI delegation, on December 6, would meet Indian counterparts in Punjab Haryana Delhi Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PHDCCI) and again the issues hitting the two-way trade would be discussed for want of a methodology to overcome the problems.

The 100-member delegation includes: LCCI Vice President Saeeda Nazar, former Presidents Mian Tajammal Hussain, Mian Shafqat Ali, former Senior Vice Presidents Engineer Sohail Lashari, Abdul Basit, Executive Committee Members Nabila Intisar, Nasir Saeed, Ilyas Majeed Sheikh, Mian Ghulam Murtaza Shaukat, Mohammad Yousaf, Syed Mehmood Ghaznavi, Chaudhry Wajid Ali, Waqar Ahmad Mian, Sheikh Mohammad Ayub, Mian Abuzar Shad, Fahim-ur-Rehman Saigol, Mian Rehman Aziz Chan, Qoumi Tajir Ittehad President Irfan Iqbal Sheikh, Anjuman-eTajiran President Mohammad Ashraf Bhatti, Anwaar Ahmad Sheikh, Nasira Taskeen, Ghulam Rasul Siddiqui and Sheikh Mohammad Ashfaq.

During their stay in India, the LCCI President Irfan Qaiser Sheikh would also have meetings with leading traders and industrialists to have their point of view on Pakistan-India trade. The delegation would come back on December 7 through Wagah Border. – Dailytimes